Click to resize the text + -
 
Nebraska Crime Commission

Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice

Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center

Emergency Vehicle Operator Instructor Training

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Topics

  • This 40-hour course will certify students as instructors in Law Enforcement driving procedures. It will include courses in;
    • Adult education,
    • Legal issues,
    • Non-emergency and emergency driving techniques,
    • Driving exercises,
    • Mechanics of driver control,
    • Vehicle dynamics,
  • Will conclude with a hands-on "instructor-student" practical.

Suggested Audience

  • Law Enforcement Officers capable of operating a motor vehicle under stressful conditions.

Course Completion Requirements

  • Each participant must bring a suitable emergency vehicle in excellent working condition. The vehicle must be equipped with working overhead lights and a siren.
  • It is suggested that the vehicle be equipped with all new or “near new” tires. One full-size spare tire is required to have available during driving exercises. Worn tires are considered hazardous and may not be allowed during exercises.
  • Students may bring their own driving helmets.  NLETC will have helmets available.  NO BALLISTIC-STYLE HELMETS ARE ALLOWED. It is suggested that students bring a “do-rag” if using an NLETC helmet.
  • It is recommended that participants bring plenty of fluids for both you and your cars.  
  • Vehicles should be emptied of any contents that are not needed for this training.
  • Fuel stations will be in Grand Island and in Hastings at your expense. Students must fuel up at the end of each day.
  • Students must pass a written test, and successfully complete the driving qualification courses.
  • Students will be required to return to NLETC for a 12-hour apprenticeship during Basic Training, within the first year of completing the course to receive their instructor certificate.         
  • The certification will need to be renewed every 3 years.

Attendance Requirements

Class attendance is an essential part of the education process, and participants are expected to attend all class sessions and field exercises. Training will be held in Grand Island and Hastings and will conclude in Grand Island each day.  Casual attire is recommended.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: See above under "Course Completion Requirements", Pen/Pencil, notebook, and extra towels if you are staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 5/15/2023                  Start Time: 8:00 am

End Date: 5/19/2023

Tuition: $360 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 10

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Gene Boner, NLETC

Pre-requisite: None

Event-Date: 
Monday, May 15, 2023 - 8:00am to Friday, May 19, 2023 - 5:00pm

Police Traffic RADAR/Laser Instructor Course

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state. (Must be a Nebraska Certified Law Enforcement Officer.)

The Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center is hosting a Police Traffic Laser/RADAR Instructor Training Course taught by the Institute of Police Technology and Management. This combined course will improve your knowledge of both RADAR and Laser speed measurement devices and give you the instructional tools to present RADAR and Laser training programs to other members of law enforcement.

You will learn the different scientific principles behind these devices and their proper application within the overall speed enforcement program. In addition, we will cover the various aspects of equipment used such as testing and verification protocols, case law, health issues, and many other operational considerations.

Through practical exercises using a variety of different units, you will be exposed to the latest technology in the field. You will also take part in teaching exercises emphasizing the need for complete equipment familiarity on the operator's part.

TOPICS INCLUDE

  • Time, distance and speed measurement
  • Scientific principles of RADAR and Laser
  • Operational considerations
  • Case law and administrative rules
  • Preparations for court presentation
  • Theories of adult teaching and learning
  • Four-step teaching process
  • Practical exercises and written exams
  • Classroom presentations 

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: Recommended: Traffic Laser/RADAR unit, Laptop Computer, pen/paper and extra towels if you are staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 05/22/2023                  Start Time: 8:00 am

End Date: 05/26/2023

Tuition: No tuition. The training is being funded by a grant through the Nebraska Office of Highway Safety.

Class Limit: 30

Location: NLETC

Instructor: IPTM (Contact Gene Boner at 308-218-6671 or gene.boner@nebraska.gov for more information.)

Pre-requisite: None

Event-Date: 
Monday, May 22, 2023 - 8:00am to Friday, May 26, 2023 - 5:00pm

Advanced Crash Investigation

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

This is a 40-hour course with an emphasis on special problems in accident investigations, vehicle dynamics, report writing, mathematical computations and practical applications.

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: .5 mm Mechanical Pencil, Pen, Notebook / Templates / Drawing Equipment (to include a flex curve and eraser shield) / Calculator (Texas Instruments TI-30XA or equivalent) / 300' Tape Measure / 6” or larger Locking Compass / Stop Watch / Formula Booklet (IPTM Formula booklet from Intermediate Crash Investigation.  Optional for the class:  a minimum 5 megapixel digital camera and tripod and 1 GB flash drive / Video Camera. Also bring extra towels if staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 5/1/2023     Start Time: 8:00 am

End Date: 5/5/2023

Tuition: No tuition. Students are responsible for lodging and meals as applicable.

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: 

Pre-requisite: Completion of the Intermediate Crash Investigation course held at NLETC or equivalent.

Event-Date: 
Monday, May 1, 2023 - 8:00am to Friday, May 5, 2023 - 5:00pm

Criminal Interdiction and Patrolling

To register: Grand Island Sign-Up Form

Criminal Interdiction and Patrolling to Include Hidden Compartment Training for ANY and ALL Officers

Instructor: Greg Goltz is a 33 year veteran trooper with a large Midwest state police agency. He is the instructor for his agency in Criminal Interdiction/Patrolling and has instructed this course to thousands of law enforcement officers and their agencies from all over the United States. Greg is a veteran Police Service Dog handler, Firearms Instructor and Team Leader for SWAT. He also worked very successfully in undercover operations purchasing illegal drugs of all kinds. While working in the uniform division he has seized millions of dollars in United States currency and literally thousands of pounds of contraband all while making normal traffic stops that he turned into Criminal Interdiction arrests. He is a declared Expert witness in both the State and Federal court systems and actively testifies about this subject matter. 

Course Objectives: Students will see first-hand how Criminal Patrol techniques can yield large and small drug and other type arrests from legal contacts with many people of society regardless of age, sex, race, or any other class or designation. These students will learn about the growing number of drugs they may see in their area and how to battle them. The students will learn how to put these legal techniques into place with these types of contacts after class. CRIMINAL INTERDICTION FLYER

Students will also learn of the incredibly advanced concealment places in land vehicles that smugglers and other people involved with drugs hide the drugs, weapons, currency and the countless other items of contraband.

For more information visit: www.criminaladdiction.com or https://www.criminaladdiction.com/NLETC/Signup

Equipment:

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Start Date: 11/29/2022               Start Time: 8:00 AM

End Date: 12/1/2022

Tuition: $300 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Greg Goltz

Coordinator:

Prerequisite: None

Event-Date: 
Tuesday, November 29, 2022 - 8:00am to Thursday, December 1, 2022 - 3:00pm

Firearms Instructor Course

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

This course will provide participants with the basic skills for establishing and operating a firearms program for their agency.  This course is an Instructor level course and is designed to teach you how to instruct others in the skill of shooting their handgun.  It is not merely a shooting course and is not designed to increase your shooting skills.

Topics include:  range safety, legal issues, basic marksmanship, components of rapid reaction, reaction and precision shooting, exertion courses, care and maintenance, ballistics, documentation, shot analysis, assisting problem shooters, line drills, and reduced light firing.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level.  Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing, kneeling, and prone positions, maintaining them and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Entry Criteria:  The first morning of training participants will be required to shoot and successfully pass the NLETC Handgun Instructor Pre-Qualification Course (90% required). Failure to pass the pre-qualification will result in the participant being dismissed from the training.

Certification Requirements:  Students will be required to successfully pass a written test (80% required) and successfully pass the NLETC Handgun Instructor Qualification Course (90% required).

The student will also be required to complete a 12-hour apprenticeship at NLETC prior to being awarded certification as a Firearms Instructor.

Certification is good for 3 years and must be renewed by attending a Firearms Instructor Recertification Course.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

Link: HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: Semi-automatic duty pistol and duty leather, three magazines, handgun cleaning equipment, soft body armor, eye and ear protection, cap (baseball or wide brimmed), flashlight, permanent sharpie marker, and range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts or sleeveless shirts).

Ammunition:  1,500 rounds of semi-auto handgun ammunition.

Start Date: 08/21/2023     Start Time: 8:00 AM

End Date: 08/25/2023

Tuition: $360 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland

Coordinator: 

Prerequisite: None

Event-Date: 
Monday, August 21, 2023 - 8:00am to Friday, August 25, 2023 - 5:00pm

Firearms Instructor Course

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

This course will provide participants with the basic skills for establishing and operating a firearms program for their agency.  This course is an Instructor level course and is designed to teach you how to instruct others in the skill of shooting their handgun.  It is not merely a shooting course and is not designed to increase your shooting skills.

Topics include:  range safety, legal issues, basic marksmanship, components of rapid reaction, reaction and precision shooting, exertion courses, care and maintenance, ballistics, documentation, shot analysis, assisting problem shooters, line drills, and reduced light firing.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level.  Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing, kneeling, and prone positions, maintaining them and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Entry Criteria:  The first morning of training participants will be required to shoot and successfully pass the NLETC Handgun Instructor Pre-Qualification Course (90% required). Failure to pass the pre-qualification will result in the participant being dismissed from the training.

Certification Requirements:  Students will be required to successfully pass a written test (80% required) and successfully pass the NLETC Handgun Instructor Qualification Course (90% required).

The student will also be required to complete a 12-hour apprenticeship at NLETC prior to being awarded certification as a Firearms Instructor.

Certification is good for 3 years and must be renewed by attending a Firearms Instructor Recertification Course.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

Link: HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: Semi-automatic duty pistol and duty leather, three magazines, handgun cleaning equipment, soft body armor, eye and ear protection, cap (baseball or wide brimmed), flashlight, permanent sharpie marker, and range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts or sleeveless shirts).

Ammunition:  1,500 rounds of semi-auto handgun ammunition.

Start Date: 04/24/2023     Start Time: 8:00 AM

End Date: 04/28/2023

Tuition: $360 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland

Coordinator: 

Prerequisite: None

Event-Date: 
Monday, April 24, 2023 - 8:00am to Friday, April 28, 2023 - 5:00pm

Patrol Rifle Instructor Course

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 double occupancy) and meals. NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of students from any one agency.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

**Please read this entire description and information before you enroll**

Pre-Requisite:  Certified Firearms Instructor (Completion of the NLETC Handgun Instructor Apprenticeship is not required to attend the Patrol Rifle Instructor Course). NLETC will however not recognize you as an Instructor for Handgun or Patrol Rifle until you have completed the apprenticeship requirement. Non-NLETC Certified Handgun Instructors will be considered for attendance on a case by case basis.

You may be required to submit proof of certification prior to receiving your acceptance letter from NLETC. If you have any questions for criteria to enter this course please contact Mark Stephenson at NLETC.

Entry Criteria: After a short briefing. Participants will be required to pass a written nomenclature test over the AR-15 platform rifle. Immediately following, Participants will then be required to pass a rifle qualification course with a minimum score of 90%. There will be no make-up or re-shoot. This course requires the participants to shoot from 50 yards to 5 yards from the standing, kneeling, and prone position and demonstrate a transition to their hand gun. This course is fired on a standard NLETC Rifle "Q" target.  This criteria is designed to insure participants are at a competency level capable of becoming a Rifle Instructor. Failure to pass the pre-test OR the pre-qualification will result in the participant being dismissed from training. If the participant questions their skill level please feel free to contact Mark Stephenson for further information regarding the pre-test and qualification.  You should ensure the condition of your weapon prior to arrival. There is no time to sight in your rifle or fix other problems before the pre-qualification.

NOTE: Regardless of the student's previous experience, the student should practice the pre-qualification and qualification courses before attending this course. Students will be allowed to use optics for this course after they have successfully completed the pre-qualification. The pre-qualification will be shot with iron sights. Be prepared to remove the optic or battery. There will be an opportunity to re-zero the optic if necessary. All students are individually timed in all qualification courses.

Link: NLETC Patrol Rifle Pre-Qualification & Qualification course:

Certification Requirements: Participants in this course will be required to successfully complete the instructor's qualification course. This course will be the same course of fire the participant fired for qualification to enter the course, but will be performed on a standard "Q" target with a modified "hit zone". This qualification course will be conducted a total of four times (days 2-5). At any time during the course (days 2-5) if the participant shoots a score of 90% the qualification requirement for certification is considered complete. If the participant fails to qualify by the last day of the course they will receive a CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE. Unlike the Handgun Instructor Program, there is no apprenticeship requirement for the Patrol Rifle Instructor Program.

Course Description: The course will provide the student with the fundamentals for instructing their agency's personnel in the safe and effective use of the carbine type rifle. This class is designed to enhance the teaching skills of the student and to assist in developing and conducting safe, effective, agency-related rifle training. This is NOT a Tactical or SWAT Course. It is not designed to increase your shooting skills.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level. Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing, kneeling, sitting and prone positions, maintaining them and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Equipment:

Required Firearm: This course will only accept participants with a shoulder mounted, detachable magazine fed, gas operated, semi-automatic rifle capable of firing 223/556 or 308 rounds. (Magazine capacity of at least 20 rounds is required.) All students will shoot their weapon system "as you deploy it on duty". If your agency allows you to carry a patrol rifle with optics, you will be allowed to shoot ALL qualifications and shooting drills with optics. If your agency does not allow you to deploy with an optic, you will be required to shoot with iron sights.

Law Enforcement duty-type patrol rifle (Zeroed and ready to shoot) fitted with a sling, at least 3 magazines with a capacity of at least 20 rounds each, duty handgun and DUTY GEAR (type worn on duty), hand held flashlight, knee pads and elbow pads, pen/pencil, large permanent marker, sight adjustment tool for the rifle, range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts or sleeveless shirts), appropriate cleaning equipment for rifle and handgun, eye and ear protection, cap (baseball), shooting mat (optional), spotting scope (optional).

ALL EQUIPMENT IS REQUIRED. Contact NLETC with questions regarding acceptable firearms and equipment prior to attending the course to ensure you will not be turned away.

Ammunition:  1500 rounds rifle ammunition, 250 rounds handgun ammunition

Start Date: 09/11/2023      Start Time: 8:00 AM

End Date: 09/15/2023

Tuition: $360 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland

Coordinator: 

Prerequisite: Completion of the NLETC Firearms Instructor Course.

Event-Date: 
Monday, September 11, 2023 - 8:00am to Friday, September 15, 2023 - 5:00pm

Patrol Rifle Instructor Course

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 double occupancy) and meals. NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of students from any one agency.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

**Please read this entire description and information before you enroll**

Pre-Requisite:  Certified Firearms Instructor (Completion of the NLETC Handgun Instructor Apprenticeship is not required to attend the Patrol Rifle Instructor Course). NLETC will however not recognize you as an Instructor for Handgun or Patrol Rifle until you have completed the apprenticeship requirement. Non-NLETC Certified Handgun Instructors will be considered for attendance on a case by case basis.

You may be required to submit proof of certification prior to receiving your acceptance letter from NLETC. If you have any questions for criteria to enter this course please contact Mark Stephenson at NLETC.

Entry Criteria: After a short briefing. Participants will be required to pass a written nomenclature test over the AR-15 platform rifle. Immediately following, Participants will then be required to pass a rifle qualification course with a minimum score of 90%. There will be no make-up or re-shoot. This course requires the participants to shoot from 50 yards to 5 yards from the standing, kneeling, and prone position and demonstrate a transition to their hand gun. This course is fired on a standard NLETC Rifle "Q" target.  This criteria is designed to insure participants are at a competency level capable of becoming a Rifle Instructor. Failure to pass the pre-test OR the pre-qualification will result in the participant being dismissed from training. If the participant questions their skill level please feel free to contact Mark Stephenson for further information regarding the pre-test and qualification.  You should ensure the condition of your weapon prior to arrival. There is no time to sight in your rifle or fix other problems before the pre-qualification.

NOTE: Regardless of the student's previous experience, the student should practice the pre-qualification and qualification courses before attending this course. Students will be allowed to use optics for this course after they have successfully completed the pre-qualification. The pre-qualification will be shot with iron sights. Be prepared to remove the optic or battery. There will be an opportunity to re-zero the optic if necessary. All students are individually timed in all qualification courses.

Link: NLETC Patrol Rifle Pre-Qualification & Qualification course:

Certification Requirements: Participants in this course will be required to successfully complete the instructor's qualification course. This course will be the same course of fire the participant fired for qualification to enter the course, but will be performed on a standard "Q" target with a modified "hit zone". This qualification course will be conducted a total of four times (days 2-5). At any time during the course (days 2-5) if the participant shoots a score of 90% the qualification requirement for certification is considered complete. If the participant fails to qualify by the last day of the course they will receive a CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE. Unlike the Handgun Instructor Program, there is no apprenticeship requirement for the Patrol Rifle Instructor Program.

Course Description: The course will provide the student with the fundamentals for instructing their agency's personnel in the safe and effective use of the carbine type rifle. This class is designed to enhance the teaching skills of the student and to assist in developing and conducting safe, effective, agency-related rifle training. This is NOT a Tactical or SWAT Course. It is not designed to increase your shooting skills.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level. Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing, kneeling, sitting and prone positions, maintaining them and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Equipment:

Required Firearm: This course will only accept participants with a shoulder mounted, detachable magazine fed, gas operated, semi-automatic rifle capable of firing 223/556 or 308 rounds. (Magazine capacity of at least 20 rounds is required.) All students will shoot their weapon system "as you deploy it on duty". If your agency allows you to carry a patrol rifle with optics, you will be allowed to shoot ALL qualifications and shooting drills with optics. If your agency does not allow you to deploy with an optic, you will be required to shoot with iron sights.

Law Enforcement duty-type patrol rifle (Zeroed and ready to shoot) fitted with a sling, at least 3 magazines with a capacity of at least 20 rounds each, duty handgun and DUTY GEAR (type worn on duty), hand held flashlight, knee pads and elbow pads, pen/pencil, large permanent marker, sight adjustment tool for the rifle, range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts or sleeveless shirts), appropriate cleaning equipment for rifle and handgun, eye and ear protection, cap (baseball), shooting mat (optional), spotting scope (optional).

ALL EQUIPMENT IS REQUIRED. Contact NLETC with questions regarding acceptable firearms and equipment prior to attending the course to ensure you will not be turned away.

Ammunition:  1500 rounds rifle ammunition, 250 rounds handgun ammunition

Start Date: 05/08/2023      Start Time: 8:00 AM

End Date: 05/12/2023

Tuition: $360 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland

Coordinator: 

Prerequisite: Completion of the NLETC Firearms Instructor Course.

Event-Date: 
Monday, May 8, 2023 - 8:00am to Friday, May 12, 2023 - 5:00pm

Patrol Rifle Instructor Recertification

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

This course is designed to recertify State of Nebraska Patrol Rifle Instructors.

Students must achieve a 90% score on the Nebraska Patrol Rifle Instructor Pre-Qualification course to get into the class.  This will be done first thing in the morning on the day of the course.

LinkTitle 79 Chapter 11

LinkNLETC Patrol Rifle Pre-Qualification & Qualification course

To successfully complete the course, the student will have to pass and complete:

NLETC Instructor Qualification Course with a 90% minimum

Information regarding the recertification course will be emailed to the students. Make sure to read all of the attachments that are sent with the acceptance letters.

All instructors will shoot their weapon system “as you deploy it on duty”. If your agency allows you to carry a patrol rifle with optics, you will be allowed to shoot ALL qualification courses and shooting drills with the optic. If you agency does not allow you to deploy your patrol rifle with an optic, you will be required to shoot iron sights.

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: Soft body armor, Eye and Ear Protection, Duty Weapon and Duty Leather, Cap (baseball or wide-brimmed), 3 handgun magazines, Law Enforcement Duty-Type Patrol Rifle (Zeroed and ready to shoot), sling, 3 rifle magazines (20 round), Pen and Notebook, Fine Point Sharpie Marker.

Ammunition: 350 rounds of rifle ammunition and 100 rounds of handgun ammunition.

Start Date: 11/15/2023                 Start Time: 8:00 AM          

End Date: 11/15/2023

Tuition: $72 plus lodging and meals as applicable   

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland

Coordinator:   

Prerequisite: None

 

Event-Date: 
Wednesday, November 15, 2023 - 8:00am to 5:00pm