Click to resize the text + -
 
Nebraska Crime Commission

Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice

Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center

Firearms Instructor Recertification

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Course Description:  This course is designed to recertify State of Nebraska Firearms Instructors. and provide updated information.

Course Content:  Information regarding the recertification course will be emailed to the students. Make sure to read all the attachments that are sent with the acceptance letters. Students will shoot their weapon system as you deploy it on duty, meaning, if you have a red dot mounted on the handgun, you may shoot the course with that optic on the weapon.

For this course, you will receive the power point (as a PDF handout) in the acceptance letter email. Study the material as there will be minimal class power point instruction prior to the written test. Be prepared to take the written exam. Develop a shooting drill of your choice and be prepared to present it and run the firing line while the group shoots your course of fire.

It is highly encouraged that you practice the qualification course prior to arriving. The qualification course is listed on the NLETC website.

Requirements for Certification:  Students must achieve a 90% score on the Nebraska Firearms Instructor Recertification Pre-Qualification course to get into the class. If you do not pass the pre-qualification, you will not be allowed to continue with the class. 

Students must pass the instructor qualification course of fire with a score of 90% inside of the modified hit zone. You will have 3 attempts to successfully pass the instructor qualification. Students must all pass the written examination with a score of 80%.

If you are unable to successfully complete any part of the instructor recertification, you will be allowed to sign up for another posted recertification course in the same calendar year to maintain your instructor certification. The only exception to this would be, if you have signed up for the LAST posted recertification course of the calendar year. If you have signed up and fail to successfully complete the last posted recertification course of the calendar year, you will be required to complete the entire instructor course over to receive your instructor certification. The number of recertification courses in a calendar year will only be dictated by the number of courses posted. Priority will be given to those that have not attended a recertification yet.

If you have questions about the course, equipment, or protocols please contact Wyatt Hoagland at wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov or 308-218-6676.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

Link: HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

Equipment: 350 rounds of handgun ammunition, duty weapon, 3 magazines, duty gear, soft body armor, eye and ear protection, baseball or wide-brimmed hat, pen and notebook, sharpie marker, and extra towels if staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 07/02/2024                 Start Time: 8:00 AM          

End Date: 07/02/2024

Tuition: $80.00 plus lodging and meals as applicable   

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov  308-218-6676

Coordinator:   

Prerequisite: Current Certified Firearms Instructor

Event-Date: 
Tuesday, July 2, 2024 - 8:00am to 5:00pm

Firearms Instructor Recertification

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Course Description:  This course is designed to recertify State of Nebraska Firearms Instructors. and provide updated information.

Course Content:  Information regarding the recertification course will be emailed to the students. Make sure to read all the attachments that are sent with the acceptance letters. Students will shoot their weapon system as you deploy it on duty, meaning, if you have a red dot mounted on the handgun, you may shoot the course with that optic on the weapon.

For this course, you will receive the power point (as a PDF handout) in the acceptance letter email. Study the material as there will be minimal class power point instruction prior to the written test. Be prepared to take the written exam. Develop a shooting drill of your choice and be prepared to present it and run the firing line while the group shoots your course of fire.

It is highly encouraged that you practice the qualification course prior to arriving. The qualification course is listed on the NLETC website.

Requirements for Certification:  Students must achieve a 90% score on the Nebraska Firearms Instructor Recertification Pre-Qualification course to get into the class. If you do not pass the pre-qualification, you will not be allowed to continue with the class. 

Students must pass the instructor qualification course of fire with a score of 90% inside of the modified hit zone. You will have 3 attempts to successfully pass the instructor qualification. Students must all pass the written examination with a score of 80%.

If you are unable to successfully complete any part of the instructor recertification, you will be allowed to sign up for another posted recertification course in the same calendar year to maintain your instructor certification. The only exception to this would be, if you have signed up for the LAST posted recertification course of the calendar year. If you have signed up and fail to successfully complete the last posted recertification course of the calendar year, you will be required to complete the entire instructor course over to receive your instructor certification. The number of recertification courses in a calendar year will only be dictated by the number of courses posted. Priority will be given to those that have not attended a recertification yet.

If you have questions about the course, equipment, or protocols please contact Wyatt Hoagland at wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov or 308-218-6676.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

Link: HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

Equipment: 350 rounds of handgun ammunition, duty weapon, 3 magazines, duty gear, soft body armor, eye and ear protection, baseball or wide-brimmed hat, pen and notebook, sharpie marker, and extra towels if staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 05/14/2024                Start Time: 8:00 AM          

End Date: 05/14/2024

Tuition: $80.00 plus lodging and meals as applicable   

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov  308-218-6676

Coordinator:   

Prerequisite: Current Certified Firearms Instructor

Event-Date: 
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 - 8:00am to 5:00pm

Firearms Instructor Recertification

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Course Description:  This course is designed to recertify State of Nebraska Firearms Instructors. and provide updated information.

Course Content:  Information regarding the recertification course will be emailed to the students. Make sure to read all the attachments that are sent with the acceptance letters. Students will shoot their weapon system as you deploy it on duty, meaning, if you have a red dot mounted on the handgun, you may shoot the course with that optic on the weapon.

For this course, you will receive the power point (as a PDF handout) in the acceptance letter email. Study the material as there will be minimal class power point instruction prior to the written test. Be prepared to take the written exam. Develop a shooting drill of your choice and be prepared to present it and run the firing line while the group shoots your course of fire.

It is highly encouraged that you practice the qualification course prior to arriving. The qualification course is listed on the NLETC website.

Requirements for Certification:  Students must achieve a 90% score on the Nebraska Firearms Instructor Recertification Pre-Qualification course to get into the class. If you do not pass the pre-qualification, you will not be allowed to continue with the class. 

Students must pass the instructor qualification course of fire with a score of 90% inside of the modified hit zone. You will have 3 attempts to successfully pass the instructor qualification. Students must all pass the written examination with a score of 80%.

If you are unable to successfully complete any part of the instructor recertification, you will be allowed to sign up for another posted recertification course in the same calendar year to maintain your instructor certification. The only exception to this would be, if you have signed up for the LAST posted recertification course of the calendar year. If you have signed up and fail to successfully complete the last posted recertification course of the calendar year, you will be required to complete the entire instructor course over to receive your instructor certification. The number of recertification courses in a calendar year will only be dictated by the number of courses posted. Priority will be given to those that have not attended a recertification yet.

If you have questions about the course, equipment, or protocols please contact Wyatt Hoagland at wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov or 308-218-6676.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

Link: HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

Equipment: 350 rounds of handgun ammunition, duty weapon, 3 magazines, duty gear, soft body armor, eye and ear protection, baseball or wide-brimmed hat, pen and notebook, sharpie marker, and extra towels if staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 04/03/2024                 Start Time: 8:00 AM          

End Date: 04/03/2024

Tuition: $80.00 plus lodging and meals as applicable   

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov  308-218-6676

Coordinator:   

Prerequisite: Current Certified Firearms Instructor

Event-Date: 
Wednesday, April 3, 2024 - 8:00am to 5:00pm

Firearms Instructor

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 double occupancy) and meals.

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of students from any one agency.  This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Prerequisite: None

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

Course Description:  Students should have better than basic skill level shooting ability.  This course will provide participants with the basic instructional skills needed to establish and operate a firearms program for their agency.  This course is an instructor level course and is designed to teach you how to instruct others in the skill of shooting their handgun.  It is not merely a shooting course, it is focused on basic shooting fundamentals, how to correct those issues, and instructional development and delivery.

Topics include:  range safety, legal issues, basic marksmanship, reaction and precision shooting, exertion courses, weapons care and maintenance, ballistics, documentation, shot analysis, assisting problem shooters, line drills, and reduced light firing.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level.  Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing and kneeling positions, maintaining them, and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Entry Criteria:  Upon arrival, participants will be required to pass a pre-qualification course of fire with a minimum score of 90% of shots scoring in the Q.  The pre-qualification course of fire is the State of Nebraska Handgun Qualification course, shot on the standard NLETC Q target.  Failure to pass the pre-qualification will result in the participant being dismissed from the training immediately and not allowed to continue in the class.  There will be no make-up or a re-shoot.  This criteria is designed to insure participants are at a competency level capable of becoming a Firearms Instructor.

Certification Requirements:  Students will be required to successfully pass a written test over the classroom material with a score of 80%.  Students must successfully pass the NLETC Handgun Instructor Qualification Course with a score of 90% of shots being scored in the modified hit zone.  The course of fire is the State of Nebraska Handgun Qualification.  Participants will have 4 attempts through the week to pass the instructor qualification.  If the participant fails to successfully complete the instructor qualification by the last day of the course, they will receive a CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE.

The student will also be required to complete a 12-hour apprenticeship at NLETC the following basic class prior to being awarded the certification as a Firearms Instructor.

Certification is good for 3 years and must be renewed by attending a Firearms Instructor Recertification Course.

Link: HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

Equipment: Semi-automatic duty pistol and duty gear (what you carry and use on duty), three magazines, handgun cleaning equipment, soft body armor, wrap around eye protection, ear protection (preferably electronic), baseball style cap, flashlight, large sharpie marker, and range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts, open toed shoes, or sleeveless shirts).

Optional Equipment:  Red dot sights, weapon mounted lights

Ammunition:  1,500 rounds of semi-auto handgun ammunition.

Start Date: 08/19/2024     Start Time: 8:00 AM                          End Date: 08/23/2024

Tuition: $400.00 plus lodging and meals as applicable                    Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC                      Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland  wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov 

Coordinator: 

Event-Date: 
Monday, August 19, 2024 - 8:00am to Friday, August 23, 2024 - 5:00pm

Firearms Instructor

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 double occupancy) and meals.

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of students from any one agency.  This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

Prerequisite: None

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

Course Description:  Students should have better than basic skill level shooting ability.  This course will provide participants with the basic instructional skills needed to establish and operate a firearms program for their agency.  This course is an instructor level course and is designed to teach you how to instruct others in the skill of shooting their handgun.  It is not merely a shooting course, it is focused on basic shooting fundamentals, how to correct those issues, and instructional development and delivery.

Topics include:  range safety, legal issues, basic marksmanship, reaction and precision shooting, exertion courses, weapons care and maintenance, ballistics, documentation, shot analysis, assisting problem shooters, line drills, and reduced light firing.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level.  Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing and kneeling positions, maintaining them, and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Entry Criteria:  Upon arrival, participants will be required to pass a pre-qualification course of fire with a minimum score of 90% of shots scoring in the Q.  The pre-qualification course of fire is the State of Nebraska Handgun Qualification course, shot on the standard NLETC Q target.  Failure to pass the pre-qualification will result in the participant being dismissed from the training immediately and not allowed to continue in the class.  There will be no make-up or a re-shoot.  This criteria is designed to insure participants are at a competency level capable of becoming a Firearms Instructor.

Certification Requirements:  Students will be required to successfully pass a written test over the classroom material with a score of 80%.  Students must successfully pass the NLETC Handgun Instructor Qualification Course with a score of 90% of shots being scored in the modified hit zone.  The course of fire is the State of Nebraska Handgun Qualification.  Participants will have 4 attempts through the week to pass the instructor qualification.  If the participant fails to successfully complete the instructor qualification by the last day of the course, they will receive a CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE.

The student will also be required to complete a 12-hour apprenticeship at NLETC the following basic class prior to being awarded the certification as a Firearms Instructor.

Certification is good for 3 years and must be renewed by attending a Firearms Instructor Recertification Course.

Link: HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

Equipment: Semi-automatic duty pistol and duty gear (what you carry and use on duty), three magazines, handgun cleaning equipment, soft body armor, wrap around eye protection, ear protection (preferably electronic), baseball style cap, flashlight, large sharpie marker, and range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts, open toed shoes, or sleeveless shirts).

Optional Equipment:  Red dot sights, weapon mounted lights

Ammunition:  1,500 rounds of semi-auto handgun ammunition.

Start Date: 04/15/2024     Start Time: 8:00 AM                          End Date: 04/19/2024

Tuition: $400.00 plus lodging and meals as applicable                    Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC                      Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland  wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov 

Coordinator: 

Event-Date: 
Monday, April 15, 2024 - 8:00am to Friday, April 19, 2024 - 5:00pm

Patrol Rifle Instructor

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 double occupancy) and meals. NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of students from any one agency.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

 

**Please read this entire description and information before you enroll**

Pre-Requisite:  Must be current Certified Firearms Instructor (Completion of the NLETC Firearms Instructor Apprenticeship is not required to attend the Patrol Rifle Instructor Course). Instructor Certifications will not be recognized for either handgun or patrol rifle until the apprenticeship requirement has been completed. Non-NLETC Certified Firearms Instructors will be considered for attendance on a case by case basis.

You may be required to submit proof of certification prior to receiving your acceptance letter from NLETC. If you have any questions for criteria to enter this course please contact Wyatt Hoagland at NLETC.

Entry Criteria: Upon arrival, participants will be required to pass a pre-qualification course of fire with a minimum score of 90% of shots scoring inside the entire Q area shot on the standard NLETC Q target.  This course requires the participants to shoot the course under certain time standards, from varying distances of 50 yds to 5 yds, and various shooting positions in prone, kneeling, and standing. It will also consist of rifle reloads and transitions from rifle to handgun.  This criteria is designed to insure participants are at a competency level capable of becoming a Rifle Instructor. Failure to pass the pre-qualification shoot will result in the participant being dismissed from training immediately and not allowed to continue in the class.  There will be no make-up or re-shoot.  If the participant questions their skill level, please feel free to contact Wyatt Hoagland for further information regarding the pre-qualification. You should ensure the condition of your weapon is zeroed and ready to shoot prior to arrival. There is no time to sight in your rifle or fix other problems before the pre-qualification.

NOTE: Regardless of the student's previous experience, the student should practice the pre-qualification and qualification courses before attending this course. Students will be allowed to use optics for this entire course.

Link: NLETC Patrol Rifle Pre-Qualification & Qualification course:

Certification Requirements: Participants in this course will be required to successfully complete the instructor's qualification course of fire by scoring a minimum of 90% in the modified hit zone. This course is the same course of fire shot for the pre-qualification but will be shot on the standard "Q" target with a modified "hit zone". The instructor qualification course will be conducted a total of four times (days 2-5). At any time during the instructor qualifying attempts, if the participant shoots a score of 90%, the instructor qualification requirement for certification is considered complete. If the participant fails to successfully complete the instructor qualification by the last day of the course, they will receive a CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE. Unlike the Handgun Instructor Program, there is no apprenticeship requirement for the Patrol Rifle Instructor Program.

In addition to the instructor qualification shoot, students must pass a written examination with a minimum score of 80% tested over the class course materials handed out in class and re-enforced during live fire exercises.

Course Description: This course is designed to provide the student with the fundamentals needed for developing and instructing their agency's patrol rifle program.  This class will enhance the teaching skills, marksmanship fundamentals, shooter competency, and safe weapons handling. This is NOT an Advanced Shooter, Tactical, or SWAT Course.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level.  Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing, kneeling, seated and prone positions, maintaining them, and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Equipment:

Required Firearm: This course will only accept participants with a shoulder mounted, magazine fed, gas operated, semi-automatic rifle capable of firing 223/556 or 308 caliber rounds. (Magazine capacity of at least 20 rounds is required.) 

All students will shoot their weapon system "as you deploy it on duty". If your agency allows you to carry a patrol rifle with optics, you will be allowed to shoot ALL qualifications, including the pre-qualification, and shooting drills with optics. If your agency does not allow you to deploy with an optic, you will be required to shoot with iron sights.

Patrol Rifle that has been zeroed and ready to shoot, a sling, at least 3 magazines with a capacity of at least 20 rounds each, duty handgun & magazines, DUTY GEAR (type worn on duty), hand held flashlight, pen/pencil, large permanent marker, sight adjustment tool for the rifle, range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts, open toed shoes, or sleeveless shirts), appropriate cleaning equipment for rifle and handgun, wrap around eye protection, preferably electronic ear protection, baseball style cap. 

Optional equipment:  weapon mounted light, shooting mat, spotting scope, knee and elbow pads.

ALL EQUIPMENT IS REQUIRED. Contact Wyatt Hoagland at NLETC with questions regarding acceptable firearms and equipment prior to attending the course to ensure you will not be turned away.

Ammunition:  1500 rounds rifle ammunition, 250 rounds handgun ammunition

Start Date: 09/16/2024      Start Time: 8:00 AM

End Date: 09/20/2024

Tuition: $400.00 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland, wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov

Coordinator: 

Prerequisite: Completion of the NLETC Firearms Instructor Course.

Event-Date: 
Monday, September 16, 2024 - 8:00am to Friday, September 20, 2024 - 5:00pm

Patrol Rifle Instructor

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 double occupancy) and meals. NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of students from any one agency.

Link: Title 79 Chapter 11

 

**Please read this entire description and information before you enroll**

Pre-Requisite:  Must be current Certified Firearms Instructor (Completion of the NLETC Firearms Instructor Apprenticeship is not required to attend the Patrol Rifle Instructor Course). Instructor Certifications will not be recognized for either handgun or patrol rifle until the apprenticeship requirement has been completed. Non-NLETC Certified Firearms Instructors will be considered for attendance on a case by case basis.

You may be required to submit proof of certification prior to receiving your acceptance letter from NLETC. If you have any questions for criteria to enter this course please contact Wyatt Hoagland at NLETC.

Entry Criteria: Upon arrival, participants will be required to pass a pre-qualification course of fire with a minimum score of 90% of shots scoring inside the entire Q area shot on the standard NLETC Q target.  This course requires the participants to shoot the course under certain time standards, from varying distances of 50 yds to 5 yds, and various shooting positions in prone, kneeling, and standing. It will also consist of rifle reloads and transitions from rifle to handgun.  This criteria is designed to insure participants are at a competency level capable of becoming a Rifle Instructor. Failure to pass the pre-qualification shoot will result in the participant being dismissed from training immediately and not allowed to continue in the class.  There will be no make-up or re-shoot.  If the participant questions their skill level, please feel free to contact Wyatt Hoagland for further information regarding the pre-qualification. You should ensure the condition of your weapon is zeroed and ready to shoot prior to arrival. There is no time to sight in your rifle or fix other problems before the pre-qualification.

NOTE: Regardless of the student's previous experience, the student should practice the pre-qualification and qualification courses before attending this course. Students will be allowed to use optics for this entire course.

Link: NLETC Patrol Rifle Pre-Qualification & Qualification course:

Certification Requirements: Participants in this course will be required to successfully complete the instructor's qualification course of fire by scoring a minimum of 90% in the modified hit zone. This course is the same course of fire shot for the pre-qualification but will be shot on the standard "Q" target with a modified "hit zone". The instructor qualification course will be conducted a total of four times (days 2-5). At any time during the instructor qualifying attempts, if the participant shoots a score of 90%, the instructor qualification requirement for certification is considered complete. If the participant fails to successfully complete the instructor qualification by the last day of the course, they will receive a CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE. Unlike the Handgun Instructor Program, there is no apprenticeship requirement for the Patrol Rifle Instructor Program.

In addition to the instructor qualification shoot, students must pass a written examination with a minimum score of 80% tested over the class course materials handed out in class and re-enforced during live fire exercises.

Course Description: This course is designed to provide the student with the fundamentals needed for developing and instructing their agency's patrol rifle program.  This class will enhance the teaching skills, marksmanship fundamentals, shooter competency, and safe weapons handling. This is NOT an Advanced Shooter, Tactical, or SWAT Course.

All classes and range exercises are conducted at the instructor level.  Students must be physically capable of quickly and safely assuming standing, kneeling, seated and prone positions, maintaining them, and safely recovering from them without assistance.

Equipment:

Required Firearm: This course will only accept participants with a shoulder mounted, magazine fed, gas operated, semi-automatic rifle capable of firing 223/556 or 308 caliber rounds. (Magazine capacity of at least 20 rounds is required.) 

All students will shoot their weapon system "as you deploy it on duty". If your agency allows you to carry a patrol rifle with optics, you will be allowed to shoot ALL qualifications, including the pre-qualification, and shooting drills with optics. If your agency does not allow you to deploy with an optic, you will be required to shoot with iron sights.

Patrol Rifle that has been zeroed and ready to shoot, a sling, at least 3 magazines with a capacity of at least 20 rounds each, duty handgun & magazines, DUTY GEAR (type worn on duty), hand held flashlight, pen/pencil, large permanent marker, sight adjustment tool for the rifle, range clothing (appropriate range clothing does not include shorts, open toed shoes, or sleeveless shirts), appropriate cleaning equipment for rifle and handgun, wrap around eye protection, preferably electronic ear protection, baseball style cap. 

Optional equipment:  weapon mounted light, shooting mat, spotting scope, knee and elbow pads.

ALL EQUIPMENT IS REQUIRED. Contact Wyatt Hoagland at NLETC with questions regarding acceptable firearms and equipment prior to attending the course to ensure you will not be turned away.

Ammunition:  1500 rounds rifle ammunition, 250 rounds handgun ammunition

Start Date: 05/20/2024      Start Time: 8:00 AM

End Date: 05/24/2024

Tuition: $400.00 plus lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Wyatt Hoagland, wyatt.hoagland@nebraska.gov

Coordinator: 

Prerequisite: Completion of the NLETC Firearms Instructor Course.

Event-Date: 
Monday, May 20, 2024 - 8:00am to Friday, May 24, 2024 - 5:00pm

Intermediate Crash Investigation

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

This is a 40-hour course with an emphasis on "at-scene" evidence recognition and collection, scene photography, diagramming, and an introduction to mathematical formulas.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: Pen/Pencil, notebook, .5mm mechanical pencil and erasers, Northwestern Traffic Template, drawing equipment (to include a flex curve and eraser shield), Texas Instruments TI-30XA calculator (or equivalent), 6" or larger locking compass, 100' or larger Fiberglass Tape Measure, 25' to 50' Steel Tape Measure, used/old/cheap screwdrivers, spring clamps, 3-5 lb. sledge hammer, digital camera of you department's choice with a tripod (Students who do not bring a tripod will be unable to participate in the photography section of the class.), and a minimum 1GB flash drive. and extra towels if you are staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 4/22/2024                  Start Time: 8:00 am

End Date: 4/26/2024

Tuition: No tuition. Lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Chris Mannel, Great Plains Technical Services

Coordinator: Gene Boner, NLETC

Pre-requisite: None

Event-Date: 
Monday, April 22, 2024 - 8:00am to Friday, April 26, 2024 - 4:00pm

Advanced Crash Investigation

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

This is a 40-hour course with an emphasis on special problems in accident investigations, vehicle dynamics, report writing, mathematical computations, and practical applications.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: Pen/Pencil, notebook, .5mm mechanical pencil, templates, drawing equipment (to include a flex curve and eraser shield), calculator (Texas Instruments TI-30XA or equivalent), 300' tape measure, 6" or larger locking compass, stopwatch, formula book (IPTM formula booklet from Intermediate Crash Investigation), and extra towels if you are staying at NLETC. Optional for the class: 5 megapixel digital camera and tripod and 1 GB flash drive, video camera.

Start Date: 9/16/2024                  Start Time: 8:00 am

End Date: 9/20/2024

Tuition: No tuition. Lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Chris Mannel, Great Plains Technical Services

Coordinator: Gene Boner, NLETC

Pre-requisite: Completion of the NLETC Intermediate Crash Investigation or equivalent.

Event-Date: 
Monday, September 16, 2024 - 8:00am to Friday, September 20, 2024 - 4:00pm

Traffic Crash Reconstruction

Click here to register: Spec_Enr.pdf

NLETC reserves the right to limit the number of attendees from any one agency. This is to provide equitable training throughout the state.

This is an 80-hour course. Early application for this course is encouraged. Prior to the start of the class, study the materials you received in Intermediate, Advanced and Technical Crash Investigation; particularly with regard to basic mathematics and algebra. This course is the fourth and final piece in the NLETC crash investigation curriculum. The students will be instructed in specialized applications of momentum as well as completing real-world projects to emphasize all aspects of these courses from Intermediate on up. Further blocks on technology, courtroom considerations, report writing, and human factors will round out the course so that the student has a complete picture of many of the aspects of the crash reconstruction process. Introductions to specialized course in specific vehicle and crash types (i.e. motorcycles, bicycles, commercial vehicles, rollovers, pedestrians, etc.) will be given so that the investigator is aware of further courses to expand their knowledge in the ever-evolving field.

Students are responsible for lodging ($25.00 per night double occupancy) and meals.

Equipment: Pen/Pencil, notebook, colored fine tipped marker pens or colored pencils, 0.5mm mechanical pencil, eraser (polymer, vinyl or plastic), calculator (Texas Instruments TI-30XIIS or equivalent), Northwestern traffic template, 360-degree counterclockwise protractor, IPTM formula booklet (from Intermediate Crash Investigation), Fundamentals of Traffic Crash Reconstruction textbook from Intermediate (provided as needed), and extra towels if you are staying at NLETC.

Start Date: 11/4/2024                  Start Time: 8:00 am

End Date: 11/15/2024

Tuition: No tuition. Lodging and meals as applicable

Class Limit: 20

Location: NLETC

Instructor: Chris Mannel, Great Plains Technical Services

Coordinator: Gene Boner, NLETC

Pre-requisite: Completion of the NLETC Technical Crash Investigation Course or equivalent.

Event-Date: 
Monday, November 4, 2024 - 8:00am to Friday, November 15, 2024 - 4:00pm