Click to resize the text + -
 
Nebraska Crime Commission

Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice

Reactivation and Reciprocity

Reactivation of Nebraska Law Enforcement Certification

If you are a Nebraska certified law enforcement officer who is no longer employed as a law enforcement officer or exercising law enforcement powers, your certificate has lapsed or become inactive. In order to obtain an active certificate you will need to meet the following standards as outlined in Title 79, Chapter 4.

  • Be employed as a part or full time law enforcement officer working for more than 100 hours per year State Statute 81-1401.
     
  • Meet the minimum admission standards required for certification as a law enforcement officer in the State of Nebraska and testify that no acts or events have transpired in your life that would affect your certification. You cannot have had your certification revoked or suspended and cannot be under current disciplinary suspension.
     
  • Complete the following training standards to return to active status based upon the length of time spent on inactive status:
     
    • Inactive for 1 day to 30 days: no training standards required
       
    • Inactive for 31 days to 2 years: completion of the State handgun qualification course and possession of a valid CPR/First Aid card
       
    • Inactive for 2 years to 10 years: completion of the Council approved Reactivation (Reciprocity) certification training course
       
    • Inactive for more than 10 years: completion of basic certification training program
       
  • Demonstrate the ability to perform certain physical tasks as explained here.
     
  • Submit a non-refundable processing fee.

In addition to the requirements above, please submit all forms for admission into the Reactivation certification course to complete the application process. To request fingerprint cards email DeeEtta.Holland@nebraska.gov.

The cost for the course is outlined on the Academy Admission page.

The Reactivation course is a shorter course than the full basic course. The course requires you to attend classes on site at the NLETC for approximately four weeks. Also during that time, there is on-line course work that the student must complete. Failure to complete all training requirements will result in the student being required to attend the full basic course. The course is offered twice in the calendar year, once in January and the other in the fall.

All application paperwork must be submitted to the NLETC within 60 days of appointment as a law enforcement officer with a Nebraska Law enforcement agency.

For questions regarding eligibility to attend or admission standards, contact NCC.NLETCRegistrar@nebraska.gov. For questions specific to the training program contact gene.boner@nebraska.gov.

 

 

Law Enforcement Officer Reciprocity Certification

If you are a certified law enforcement officer from a state other than the State of Nebraska and desire to gain certification as a law enforcement officer in Nebraska, you will need to apply for, be admitted to and successfully complete the Reciprocity course. You cannot obtain Nebraska certification if your certificate has been revoked, suspended or is under current disciplinary review. If you have questions about your certificate’s status, please call the Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center at (308) 385-6030.

In order to obtain Nebraska certification you must first apply for the program. You will need to meet all of the standards as outlined in Title 79, Chapter 3 and Chapter 8. To apply for the program, at a minimum you must have:

  1. Graduated from a basic certification academy and received a law enforcement certification
    1. Provide a copy of certification or license must be submitted with application
  2. Training, education and or experience that meets or exceeds Nebraska’s basic certification training (this can include continuing education hours)
    1. Completed the curriculum comparison
    2. Submitted your basic training curriculum, any additional certificates and relevant experience
  3. Been employed for a minimum of 180 consecutive days as a full or part time law enforcement officer (reserve or auxiliary status not eligible)
    1. Submitted the dates of employment from ALL previous law enforcement agencies
  4. Been employed as a full or part time law enforcement officer within the preceding two years (reserve or auxiliary status not eligible)
  5. Submitted letters from previous Law Enforcement Agency Head or Hiring Authority Stating:
    1. Officer left in good standing.
    2. Dates of employment.
  6. Demonstrate the ability to perform certain physical tasks as explained here.
  7. Submitted a non-refundable processing fee.

In addition to the requirements above, please submit all forms for admission into the Reciprocity certification course to complete the application process. To request fingerprint cards email DeeEtta.Holland@nebraska.gov

If all of the preceding actions are completed, the next step for admission to the program is to take the Admissions examination. This is a comprehensive, written exam which is based on common law enforcement practices. There is a fee of $100.00 to sit for the exam. An applicant has two opportunities to pass the exam. If an applicant fails to pass the admission exam he/she will be required to attend the full basic course in order to obtain Nebraska certification.

The cost for the course is outlined on the Academy Admission page.

The Reciprocity Course is a shorter course than the full basic course. The course requires you to attend classes on site at the NLETC for approximately four weeks. Also during that time, there is on-line course work that the student must complete. Failure to complete all training requirements will result in the student being required to attend the full basic course. The course is offered twice in the calendar year, once in January and the other in the fall.

All application paperwork must be submitted to the NLETC within 60 days of appointment as a law enforcement officer with a Nebraska law enforcement agency. If applying as a non-law reciprocity candidate all documentation must be submitted no later than 120 days before the start of Reciprocity program.

For questions regarding eligibility to attend or admission standards contact NCC.NLETCRegistrar@nebraska.gov. For questions specific to the training program contact Gene.Boner@nebraska.gov.