Click to resize the text + -
 
Nebraska Crime Commission

Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice

Victim Information and Notification Everyday (VINE)

Nebraska State VINE Service

Nebraska VINE Number: 1-877-NE 4 VINE [(877) 634-8463]

Register or Find an Offender Online

 

The Nebraska VINE service is developed and maintained by Appriss in partnership with the Nebraska Crime Commission.

VINE will monitor the custody status of adult inmates in all county jails and state prisons. Updated information is available 24 hours a day. VINE is available in several languages and accessible both online and by phone.  

Anyone may call the Nebraska State VINE Hotline or visit https://vinelink.com to determine the custody status of an inmate, with the inmate's name or booking number. Registration is not required, and all user information is confidential.

 

Notifications

Notifications can be received by phone, text, or email. Unless otherwise noted, notifications begin as soon as the VINE Call Center receives updated records from the on-site computer (within 15 minutes of record change) and continue for 24 hours or until the notification is confirmed by the correct PIN.

Notifications to registered victims will be made when one or more of the following occur:

County Jails

  • Inmate is released from custody for any reason
  • Death of the inmate (calls made only during daytime hours
  • Inmate escapes from custody
  • Inmate is returned to custody after escape (calls made only during daytime hours)
  • Inmate is transferred to another facility (delayed notification/calls made during daytime hours)

Nebraska Department of Correctional Services (DCS)
In addition to the notifications listed above, the DCS will provide the following notifications:

  • Commute of sentence or pardon
  • Release to furlough, work release or community program (unsupervised custody)
  • Cancellation of scheduled release
  • Upcoming parole hearing (30 day advance/daytime hour notification)
  • Cancellation of parole hearing (daytime hours only)
  • Parole hearing results (daytime hours only)

Call Notification Patterns
High Priority –  Phone calls will continue until a correct PIN is entered or until 24 hours have elapsed. When a custody status change occurs, the system will notify the victim every 30 minutes if there is no answer or a busy signal is received. A message will be left on an answering machine but calls will continue every two hours. On an unconfirmed notification, calls will also be made every two hours. Notifications will take place throughout a 24 hour period unless otherwise noted as daytime hours only. Daytime hours are from 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM.

Delayed High Priority – These calls will begin six (6) hours after the transfer of the inmate and will continue until a correct PIN is entered or until 24 hours has elapsed. The system will call the victim every 30 minutes between the hours of 7:00 AM and 9:00 PM, if there is no answer or a busy signal is received. A message will be left on an answering machine, but calls will continue every two hours. On an unconfirmed notification, calls will also be made every two hours.

Note: When a registered person is notified of an inmates transfer to another facility, he or she must re-register with VINE to keep the registration current.

Data Purge
Inmate records will be purged from the VINE database after the inmate has been released from custody for two weeks. Data will not be purged if there are open cases associated with the inmate.

Additional Assistance
For customer service, technical assistance, or to report a possible problem, call the VINE Customer Service Department at 1-800-865-4314.