Click to resize the text + -
Nebraska Crime Commission

Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice

Police Standards Advisory Council

The Police Standards Advisory Council (Council) is a special standing committee of the Nebraska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice (Crime Commission). Its express purpose is to oversee all training schools and training academies and the operation of the training center.  As well as ensuring that all rules, regulations, and policies with respect to pre-certification, certification, continuing education, and training requirements are implemented. The Council acts for the Crime Commission in all matters relating to law enforcement training and the training center. 

Council members are appointed, by the Governor, to four year terms. The Council consists of nine voting members as set forth in Neb. Rev. §81-1407. Eight of the voting members are law enforcement professionals and one member is a citizen at large or a member of the Jail Standards Board.

Meetings are normally held the third Wednesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. at the Training Center. Agendas and minutes from previous meeting are located in the News Release section of the website.  Members of the Council are listed below:



Sheriff Dan Osmond

Custer Co. Sheriff's Office

Representing Sheriffs serving a population of less than 40,000 people



Chief Tracy Wolf

Lexington Police Department

Representing Cities of the 1st Class


Lt. Colonel Buck Duis

Nebraska State Patrol

Representing NSP


Chief Mark Hogue

Central City Police Department

Representing Cities of the 2nd Class


Matthew McCarthy

Northeast Community College

Representing Citizens at Large


Chief Deputy Greg London

Sarpy Co. Sheriff's Office

Representing Sheriff's serving a population of over 40,000 people


Deputy Chief Sherie Thomas

Omaha Police Department

Representing city of metropolitan class


Assistant Chief Brian Jackson

Lincoln Police Department

Representing city of primary class


Sgt. Drew Bolzer

Lancaster Co. Sheriff's Office

Representing sworn officer holding the rank of sergeant or below


Crime Commission and NLETC Staff Members

Crime Commission Executive Director Dr. Don Arp, Jr.

David Stolz, Agency Counsel for the Crime Commission, serves as legal advisor to the Council

Director Ms. Brenda Urbanek, Director of Standards to the Council

Kay Fielding, NLETC Administrative Technician, Secretary to Police Standards Advisory Council