
Nebraska’s Crime Victim 
Reparations Program

NEBRASKA COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE



What is the
Crime Victim Reparations (CVR) program?

• The Nebraska Crime Victim’s Reparations Act was created in 1979 with the 
passage of LB 910. The Act provides for compensation to innocent victims 
of crime for certain expenses related to the criminal act.

• The program is funded through the federal Victims of Crime Act (VOCA), 
state general fund appropriations and cash funds.

• Victims of crime can receive assistance in completing the application by:
– contacting their local victim assistance program (a list can be found on 

the Nebraska Coalition for Victims of Crime webpage @ 
https://nebraskacoalitionforvictimsofcrime.typepad.com > 
Victim/Witness Programs) or 

– by contacting the Nebraska Victim Advocacy Program @ 402-429-1609

https://nebraskacoalitionforvictimsofcrime.typepad.com/


Additional Services

• The local victim assistance programs and/or the Nebraska Victim Advocacy 
program could provide additional services such as:

• Emergency shelter / food / transportation / clothing 
• Relocation
• Window / door / lock replacement 
• Emotional support / safety services
• Personal advocacy / accompaniment
• Assistance with VINE registration
• Criminal Justice information



Progression of CVR Statutes

• 1978 – CVR legislation was passed in Nebraska. A separate state agency 
was created.

• 1981 – LB 328 passed and the CVR program was added to the duties of the 
Crime Commission.

• 1984 – Federal Victim’s of Crime Act passed. Nebraska became eligible for 
federal VOCA funds.

• FY 85-86, 86-87, and 87-88 – State Funding for CVR was eliminated.

• FY 88-89 – State funding for CVR was restored. The General Fund 
appropriation was $210,000. CVR also received funds from Correctional 
Industries and federal matching funds.



Progression of CVR Statutes, cont.

• FY 02-03 – General funds for CVR were reduced from $210,000 to $20,000. 
In 2004, to adjust to this big reduction in funds, the CVR Committee voted to 
no longer accept assault claims. The program continued to accept claims 
for domestic violence, homicide, sexual assault, arson, child abuse, robbery, 
DUI, and kidnapping.

• 2010 – LB 510 passed and added additional revenue to the CVR program 
from a portion of a $1.00 court fee and a percentage of work release wages 
from state prisoners. As a result of LB 510, the annual budget (including 
federal funds) for the CVR program increased from $80,000 to $320,000.



Progression of CVR Statutes, cont.

• July 1, 2011 – Beginning on this date, the CVR program began accepting 
claims from felony assault victims whereby an element of the crime is 
serious bodily injury.

• 2015 – LB 605 passed and increased the maximum CVR award from 
$10,000 to $25,000 and added another member to the CVR Committee who 
has training and work experience with victims and survivors of crime.



Who is eligible for CVR?

• Eligible applicants who suffer physical injuries as a result of the crime. 
Property loss and pain and suffering are not eligible expenses.

• A dependent or legal representative of an eligible applicant who has been 
killed as a result of a crime is eligible to apply for funds to pay for funeral 
expenses.

• A parent or guardian who is responsible for medical expenses of a minor is 
eligible to apply.

• A person who is injured while aiding a crime victim or assisting a law 
enforcement officer may also apply for funds.

• The following incident types are eligible for consideration under the CVR 
program: Homicide, Sexual Assault, Felony Assault, Child Sexual 
Assault/Child Abuse, Robbery, Domestic Violence, Arson, DUI, and 
Kidnapping



Other eligibility concerns for CVR

• Any funds available from health insurance are deducted before the CVR 
claim is approved. The maximum amount paid on any claim is $25,000. The 
maximum amount increased to $25,000 in September 2015 as a result of 
LB 605.

• The claim must be received by the CVR program within two years of the 
date of the incident. The victim must report the incident to a law 
enforcement agency within three days of the incident. (No order for the payment of 
compensation shall be entered under the Nebraska Crime Victim’s Reparations Act unless the application has be submitted 
to the committee within two years...or offense which had been reported to the police within three days of its occurrence or, if 
the incident  could not reasonably have been reported within that period, within three days of the time when a report could 
reasonably have been made. – Neb.Rev.Stat. 81-1821)

• The victim must cooperate with criminal justice officials in the investigation 
of the incident and the prosecution of the offender.



What expenses may be paid?

• Medical provider expenses incurred as a direct result of the incident.

• Loss of wage while under a doctor’s care as a direct result of the incident.

• Funeral expenses - $5,000 maximum.

• Loss of earning power as a direct result of the incident.

• Counseling expenses incurred as a direct result of the incident - $2,000 
maximum.

• Conservatorships may be created for minor children of homicide victims -
$10,000 maximum per child.



Expenses which are not eligible include...

• Property loss.

• Payment for pain and suffering.

• Expenses not directly related to the incident.

• Expenses paid by insurance, public funds, the offender, or other sources.



What forms are required?

• The 9 page application form, which includes an instruction page and the 
attestation page (to affirm that the victim is a U.S. citizen or legal resident.) 

• This form was updated in July 2015 to adhere to the new federal reporting 
guidelines to retain eligibility for federal funds.

• The updated form is available on the Nebraska Crime Commission website, 
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/crime-victim-reparations.

https://ncc.nebraska.gov/crime-victim-reparations


What are the CVR procedures?

• We receive an application form from the victim/claimant.
• Send an acknowledgement letter to the victim.
• Request a copy of the incident report from the applicable law enforcement 

agency.
• Review the incident report.
• Contact service providers to verify amounts owed, etc.
• Generate a claim summary for the Hearing Officer.
• The Hearing Officer approves or denies the claim.
• A decision letter is mailed to the victim/claimant.
• If the claim is approved, payment are processed to the victim and/or service 

providers.
• Denied claims may be appealed to the CVR Committee. If the CVR 

Committee upholds the decision of the Hearing Officer, the decision may be 
appealed to the District Court.



If...

• Application is received
• Information is gathered
• Claim is reviewed
• Hearing Officer’s decision is made

– Claim is awarded
• Claimant is notified of decision
• Payment is processed
• Providers are paid directly
• Claimant is reimbursed
• Supplemental bills are accepted (within two years of date of incident)

– Claim is denied
• Claimant is notified of decision
• Claimant can appeal within 30 days; if the claimant appeals, then:

– Written request for Hearing
– Hearing is conducted
– Decision of the CVR Committee
– Claimant can appeal within 30 days; if the claimant appeals, then:

» Appeal in District Court



Reasons for denial of a CVR claim

• If the victim’s behavior was such that he or she was not a eligible applicant, 
then the claim will be denied. For example, if the victim was involved in 
gang or drug activity at the time the crime occurred.

• The victim was injured or killed in a motor vehicle accident. 
Note: If (1) the driver of the vehicle that injured or killed the victim is charged 
with DUI, or (2) the driver intentionally tried to injure or kill the victim, then 
the incident is eligible for consideration under the rules of the CVR program.

• If the victim’s conduct contributed to his or her injuries, the claim will be 
denied. If the victim aided and/or abetted the offender in the commission of 
an unlawful act, then the claim will be denied.

• If the victim was injured or killed while violating a law.



Overview of the CVR Claim Form



Section 1: Victim Information



Section 2: Claimant Information



Section 3: Minor/Dependent Info



Section 4: Attorney Information



Section 5: Crime Information



Section 6: Loss of Wage Information



Section 7: Amount Being Claimed



Section 8: Insurance Information



Section 9: Authorization to Release 
Information



Section 10: Attestation Form



What we are working towards...

• Updating the CVR Rules and Regulations.

• On-line submission of CVR claims.



Contact Information

• Application forms and other information about the CVR program are on the 
Crime Commission website.
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/ > Quick References > Crime Victim Reparations

• Our address is:
Crime Victim Reparations
301 Centennial Mall South
PO Box 94946
Lincoln, NE 68509-4946

• Phone number for the CVR program is:
402-471-2828

https://ncc.nebraska.gov/
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