To be eligible you must...

e Report the incident to law
enforcement within 3 days of the
incident

e Submit your claim for compensation
within 2 years of the incident

e Cooperate in the investigation and
prosecution of the crime

HOW TO APPLY
Visit the website below:
ncc.nebraska.gov/crime-victim-
reparations
Download an application and email it

as a PDF to ncc.cvr@nebraska.gov
Or mail to:
CVR at the Crime Commission
PO Box 94946

Lincoln, NE 68509-4946

402-471-2828

Other Assistance Available for
Crime Victims

Victims of crime may also receive assistance
such as emergency shelter, crisis intervention,
emotional support, and criminal justice
information by contacting a Victim/Witness or
Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Center in
your area or by contacting the Nebraska
Victim Advocacy Program.

Contact your local law enforcement agency
or county attorney for more information.

NEBRASKA-

COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT
AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE

The state of Nebraska does not discriminate on the
basis of sex, handicap, race, color, religion, marital
status, veteran status, or national origins with
respect to Crime Victims Reparations applications.
Inquiries regarding this policy or reasonable
accommodations with respect to such programs
may be directed to the Nebraska Crime Commission
(402) 471-2828 (TDD 800-833-7352)

NEBRASKA
CRIME
VICTIM’S
REPARATIONS
PROGRAM

Are you a victim of a crime?
Do you know a victim of a
crime?

Help may be available through
the Crime Victim’s Reparations
program.




Financial Help May Be Available through the Nebraska Crime Victim’s Reparations program

What is the Crime Victim’s

Reparations (CVR) program?

The CVR program is a program which
became effective in 1979 in the State
of Nebraska to help victims of crimes
who have been injured or have

suffered a financial loss as a result of

the crime.
Who is eligible?

e Avictim who suffers bodily injury

e Adependent/legal
representative of a homicide
victim

e A parent/guardian who is
responsible for medical expenses
of a minor

e Aperson who wasinjuredina
DUI or the driver intended to hit
the victim

e A person who was injured while
aiding a crime victim or law
enforcement officer

Who is not eligible?

A person injured in a motor vehicle
accident

A person whose actions caused the
incident and/or injuries

A person who helped the offender
commit a crime or was injured/killed
while committing a crime

What may be paid?

A maximum of $25,000 per person
per claim

Medical expenses directly related to
the incident

Funeral expenses as a result of the
incident ($5,000 max)

Lost wages for the victim while in a
doctor’s care

Loss of support of the victim for an
eligible dependent/dependents

Counseling expenses for the victim
and witnesses of the incident
(2,000 max)

What is not covered?
Property loss
Pain and suffering

Expenses not directly related to the
incident

Expenses paid by the offender,
private or group insurance, public
funds, or other assistance

Is an attorney needed?

No, you do not need an attorney to
file a claim. The Hearing Officer or
CVR Committee may allow some
attorney fees up to 5% of the

awarded amount
Please Submit:

Visit the Crime Victim’s Reparations
program website at
ncc.nebraska.gov/crime-victim-
reparations to access the CVR

application.

Iltemized billing statements with
dates, procedures, and cost from

the service provider

Any other information requested
by the CVR Committee or Hearing
Officer

For loss of wages claims, submit:

Copies of three paystubs
immediately prior to the incident

Letter from employer confirming
weekly hours worked, wage, and
any compensation paid

Copy of your doctor’s release to
return to work



