
How 791 Impacts Hiring Law Enforcement Officers 

The passage of LB 791 in April of 2018, created some changes in how a law enforcement agency hires an 

officer. LB 791 is codified in N.R.S. 81-1456 & 81-1457. Please note that LB 791 is NOT retroactive. This 

statute only applies to employment changes after April 23, 2018. 

The two categories of new hires is a Nebraska Certified Officer and a non-Nebraska Certified officer.  

I. Overview of LB 791  

a. The Change in Status shall be reported to the Director of the Training Center within 7 days 

hiring or leaving employment. Use form TC-001.  

b. Information that is required to be reported on the form:  

i. Hiring  

ii. Change in Rank  

iii. Leaving Employment due to:  

1. Death, Retirement, Retirement due to incapacity (81-1403); Retirement 

during investigation  

2. Resignation  

a. In-lieu of termination. The individual was allowed to resign instead of 

being terminated from employment. If the basis for this action would 

rise to the level of revocation of the individual’s law enforcement 

certificate, the Agency must file a report to the Crime Commission 

within 30 days.  

b. Accepted Law Enforcement position with another agency  

c. Accepted a non-law enforcement position  

d. Other____________________________________________________

____  

3. Dismissal  

a. If the basis for this action would rise to the level of revocation of the 

individual’s law enforcement certificate, the Agency must file a report 

to the Crime Commission within 30 days.  

b. Unable to meet agency standards  

c. Internal Discipline (other than grounds for revocation)  

1. Employment records must be maintained on former employees for five years.  

2. Officer conduct (which could constitute revocation) records must be kept for 10 years.  

3. When an Agency is required to submit a “791” report to the Executive Director of the Crime 

Commission, the report shall include a summary of reasons/circumstances to Crime Commission 

includes witness information.  

Failure to comply with the above listed sections it constitutes Neglect of Duty 

Section 2 of 791 

A. Nebraska certified officer seeking employment as a law enforcement officer  

1. After receiving a CONDITIONAL OFFER OF EMPLOYEMENT from a prospective Law enforcement 

agency, the applicant SHALL supply the prospective employer with a signed and notarized, 

Authority to Release Information to Prospective Employer. Former employers must disclose 

information about previous employee  

2. A prospective employer shall not hire the certified officer unless they receive all of the information 

from ALL previous Law enforcement employer(s)  

3. Prospective employer shall not hire the certified officer if they have been reported to the Crime 

Commission that the separation was for reasons which may justify revocation 791 report.  

II. Hiring a Nebraska Certified Officer:  

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-1456
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-1457
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/sites/ncc.nebraska.gov/files/doc/StatChng.pdf
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-1403


When a Nebraska certified officer applies for a law enforcement position with a law enforcement 

agency; the agency administrator should contact the Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center to 

ascertain if a “791” report has been filed against the applicant.  

If a “791” report has been filed that officer CANNOT be hired as a law enforcement officer until the 

report has been reviewed and a determination has been made on the report. 

When an agency has determined that no 791 report has been filed and the applicant has met all of 

the agency’s hiring standards, a conditional offer of employment can be extended to the applicant. 

Once the conditional offer of employment has been extended, the applicant is statutorily required 

to provide the prospective employer with a signed, “Authority to Release Information to 

Prospective Employer” form.  

If the applicant does not provide the prospective employer with this form, they CANNOT be hired 

as a law enforcement officer by the agency. 

When the prospective employing agency receives the form from the applicant, the prospective 

employer shall provide that release to ALL previous law enforcement agencies with whom the 

applicant has been employed. 

Within 10 days of receiving the release, the previous employing law enforcement agencies shall 

provide the prospective employing agency with records regarding the applicant. Previously, 

agencies would only disclose the dates of employment for this individual. With the passage of this 

law, agencies are required to disclose any information regarding the applicant. 

Once the prospective employer has reviewed records from all previous law enforcement employers 

and determined that the applicant has passed a thorough background investigation as outlined in 

Title 79, Chapter 8, the prospective employer may hire the applicant. 

Within seven (7) days of hiring a Nebraska certified officer, the new employing agency must submit 

to the Training Center the following forms:  

o Change in Status form  

o Background verification form  

o Code of Ethics or an Attestation form.  

 

III. Hiring of a non-Nebraska certified officer  

a. LB 791 is not applicable to out of state officers or individuals who have not been certified as 

a law enforcement officer in Nebraska.  

b. The Change in Status shall be reported to the Director of the Training Center within 7 days 

hiring. Use form TC-001.  

c. If the individual is not Nebraska certified the agency must provide the date of appointment 

as a law enforcement officer. This means he/she can perform law enforcement duties prior 

to attending training. It also means that the year “clock” is running on this applicant. If 

she/he is appointed as a Trainee, she/he cannot perform any law enforcement duties. The 

individual is a civilian employee. The year “clock” is not running on a Trainee.  

d. An applicant shall be scheduled for Basic Training no later than two (2) months from the 

date of hire as a law enforcement officer. (Title 79 Chapter 8 008.02)  

e. All paperwork required for admission to the academy (Basic or Reciprocity) is available on 

this website.  

If you have any questions please contact Director Brenda Urbanek, 308-385-6030 

https://ncc.nebraska.gov/sites/ncc.nebraska.gov/files/doc/AuthorityToRelease.pdf
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/sites/ncc.nebraska.gov/files/doc/AuthorityToRelease.pdf
https://www.nebraska.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Law_Enforcement_and_Criminal_Justice/Title-79/Chapter-08.pdf
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/sites/ncc.nebraska.gov/files/doc/StatChng.pdf
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/sites/ncc.nebraska.gov/files/doc/BkgdVeri.pdf
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/sites/ncc.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Ethic_Cd.pdf
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/sites/ncc.nebraska.gov/files/doc/OffBkgd.pdf
https://nletc.nebraska.gov/pdfs/StatChng.pdf
https://www.nebraska.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Law_Enforcement_and_Criminal_Justice/Title-79/Chapter-08.pdf
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/academy-admission
https://ncc.nebraska.gov/reactivation-reciprocity
mailto:Brenda.Urbanek@nebraska.gov?subject=LB%20791

