Title 79, Chapter 17, Continuing Education
004 General – The Council recognizes that law enforcement officers need to obtain continuing education in order to maintain their professional status and best serve their profession, the communities and the residents of Nebraska. In compliance with the referenced statutes, the Council has promulgated this chapter as a means of establishing how continuing education requirements (CE) are attained, reported, monitored and the consequences for failure to comply with this chapter and state statutes. This chapter will apply to all law enforcement officers, reserve officers and individuals exercising law enforcement duties under a special deputy status, who are on active status as defined by Title 79.
In 2020, LB 924 was passed which changed the annual requirements for Continuing Education. Effective August 1, 2020, all officers must have 22 hours of continuing education annually. At least two of the 22 hours must address anti-bias and implicit bias training designed to minimize apparent or actual racial profiling on an annual basis.
Additionally in 2020, the Police Standards Advisory Council included live webinars as face to face training, not internet training.
Reporting of Continuing Education
The reporting of continuing education has two requirements. One is that the agency must annually submit a report stating the CE for all of its officers. The second component is that the agency must report on each individual officer. These reports must be received by the Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center no later than December 31 of each calendar year.
An agency is deemed in noncompliance if the agency report is not received by January 7 of the following calendar year. (006.01)
An individual who fails to meet the CE requirements and does not request a waiver by January 7th will have his/her certificate suspended. (008.01)
NOTE: If an officer works at any time during the calendar year, they must complete and report Continuing Education requirements for that year.
Officers who retire are also required to obtain the CE requirements during the last year of his/her employment.
Because the officer has left employment of the agency, the officer is no longer on the agency roster. Therefore, it is unlikely that the officer’s former agency will report the CE for the officer since they won’t show up on the NCJIS roster.
To report: The former officer will need to send an email to the NLETC with the documentation that he/she has obtained the required CE for the preceding calendar year.
Title 79, Chapter 17, sect 007 addresses the Waiver requirements. Waivers may be requested on behalf of officers who are unable to obtain the CE requirements. Waivers for CE must be submitted no later than January 7th. Click here for waiver form.
008.01B The individual who fails to meet the CE requirements for that reporting period will have his/her certificate suspended until he/she successfully fulfills the CE requirements for that reporting period and provides supporting documentation that complies with this chapter. The report must be submitted to the NLETC along with the re-instatement fee.