Click to resize the text + -
 
Nebraska Crime Commission

Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice

About the NLETC

Our Purpose

The Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center is dedicated to educate, train, and evaluate law enforcement officers; as well as regulate statewide training academies and mandated programs, to ensure all meet state certification requirements as established by the Nebraska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice through the Police Standards Advisory Council.

 

Director's Message

The last 18 months have proven to be some of the most interesting and challenging times in our society that many of us can ever recall. This is particularly true of the spotlight on the law enforcement profession.

As dedicated public servants, law enforcement professionals have attempted to meet the demand and the expectations placed upon them. The last 18 months have been no exception.

First, COVID-19 provided challenges that haven't existed in over 100 years. To the credit of all first responders, services were still being provided.

The summer of 2020 focused the spotlight directly on the criminal justice system with particular attention on law enforcement. The protests publicized the citizen's outcry for change in law enforcement specifically and the criminal justice system as a whole.

To this end, the Nebraska Unicameral passed legislation in the 107th session, known as LB 51. This bill will change several aspects of how Nebraska law enforcement agencies and officers function. This bill goes into effect August 28, 2021.

More detailed information on the changes can be located here.

Facility

The NLETC campus is home to two law enforcement training academies. The Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center and the Nebraska State Patrol Training Academy.

The NLETC provides basic law enforcement certification training to all agencies in the state with the exception of the Nebraska State Patrol, the Omaha Police Division, the Sarpy-Douglas Academy and the Lincoln Police Department.

Throughout the website you will find information regarding initial basic admission and certification standards; fees; how to reactivate a Nebraska law enforcement certificate; hot to obtain Nebraska certification when a person has been certified in another state; law enforcement job listings and training opportunities.

The Basic law enforcement certification program does not charge a tuition to attend basic certification training for an individual who is employed by a Nebraska Law Enforcement agency. This State support saves local tax dollars and assures Nebraskans that professionally trained law enforcement officers are being trained and certified at the NLETC to meet their community's needs for quality law enforcement officers. It is an honor to provide this service to the law enforcement agencies and the communities they serve.

In my role as Director of Standards, it is my statutory responsibility to ensure that all agencies and all law enforcement officers in the State of Nebraska meet the requirements to obtain and maintain their law enforcement certification. This includes investigating complaints of serious misconduct allegedly perpetrated by law enforcement officers in the State of Nebraska.

Please contact me at Brenda.Urbanek@nebraska.gov with any questions regarding the Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center and our service to the citizens of the State of Nebraska.

Brenda Urbanek, Director

 

Police Standards Advisory Council

Information on the Police Standards Advisory Council and its members can be viewed here.

 

Rules and Regulations/NLETC Operating Instructions

Rules and regulations for law enforcement/criminal justice are provided by the Nebraska Secretary of State here.

The Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center's operating instructions can be seen here. (Will be available after they are updated.

 

NLETC Staff

 

Administration and Standards

Director Brenda Urbanek Brenda.Urbanek@nebraska.gov
David Stolz, Agency Counsel David.Stolz@nebraska.gov
Kay Fielding, Office Manager
Secretary to Police Standards Advisory Council
Kay.Fielding@nebraska.gov
Jessie Wagoner, Registrar Jessica.Wagoner@nebraska.gov
Steven Gobel, Receptionist Steven.Gobel@nebraska.gov
Rona Kucera, Accounting Rona.Kucera@nebraska.gov
William Mathis, Business Application System Tech. William.Mathis@nebraska.gov

 

Training

Acting Deputy Director Dennis Leonard Dennis.Leonard@nebraska.gov

 

Instructional Staff

Gene Boner Gene.Boner@nebraska.gov
Wyatt Hoagland Wyatt.Hoagland@nebraska.gov
Mike Kerby Michael.Kerby@nebraska.gov
Rachel Kohlman Rachel.Kohlman@nebraska.gov
Dennis Leonard Dennis.Leonard@nebraska.gov
Mark Stephenson Mark.Stephenson@nebraska.gov
Randi Webb Randi.Webb@nebraska.gov
Casey Sample, Staff Assistant II Casey.Sample@nebraska.gov

 

 

Contact Us

Physical Address:

Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center
3600 North Academy Road
Grand Island, Nebraska 68801

Phone: (308) 385-6030

Fax: (308) 385-6032

Office Hours: 7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.